Back To Top

Clay Named D’Youville’s AAUP Scholar of the Year

Placeholder Image

Clay Named D’Youville’s AAUP Scholar of the Year

Clay Named D’Youville’s AAUP Scholar of the Year

Faculty from all departments recognized during awards ceremony

Buffalo, New York – October 27, 2020 – Lauren Clay, PhD, of Kenmore, New York, associate professor of health administration and public health, was named D’Youville’s AAUP Scholar of the Year for the 2019-20 academic year at the university’s virtual awards ceremony in October.

Clay was lauded for her robust and extensive research portfolio, including two current National Science Foundation grants dealing with public health and safety during the COVID-19 crisis. One grant examines risk protection, information seeking, and protective actions taken or not taken by individuals in response to coronavirus. The second grant looks at emergency response in areas dealing with hurricane threats in addition to COVID-19.

A D’Youville faculty member since 2014, Clay has authored numerous peer-reviewed articles, a book chapter, and has presented at more than 30 conferences. She has served as an ad-hoc reviewer for journals including The Society and Natural Resources, The International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, The Natural Hazards Review, The International Journal of Mass Emergencies and Disasters, and the Journal of Emergency Management. Dr. Clay is also the Principal Investigator for the Disaster Research Lab at D'Youville.

2019-20 Faculty of the Year awards for each school, by department, are as follows:

School of Arts, Sciences, and Education

  • Biology and Mathematics, Jason Den Haese, MS, Clinical Associate Professor
  • Business, Bonnie Fox Garrity, EdD, Professor
  • Chemistry, Dominic Ventura, PhD, Professor
  • Education Leadership, Julia Hall, PhD, Professor
  • Humanities, Paola Kersch, PhD, Associate Professor
  • Social Sciences, Manpreet Rai, PhD, Associate Professor

Patricia H. Garman School of Nursing

  • Undergraduate Nursing, Patricia Bahn, MS, BS
  • Undergraduate Nursing, Anna Boneberg, EdD, Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Graduate Nursing, Rebecca Roloff, MS, FNP-BC, APRN, Clinical Associate Professor

School of Pharmacy

  • Pharmacy Practice, Talisa Marchese, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Associate Professor
  • Pharmacy, Social and Administrative Sciences, the late Joseph Dunn, PhD

School of Health Professions

  • Chiropractic, Lynn Pownall, DACNB, DC, BS, Clinical Associate Professor
  • Dietetics, Edward Weiss, PhD, RD, Professor
  • Exercise Sports Studies, Matthew Hamilton, EdD, Associate Professor
  • Health Services and Public Health, Briana Jegier, PhD, Associate Professor
  • Occupational Therapy, Margaret (Peggy) Frye, MA, OTR/L, Clinical Associate Professor
  • Physical Therapy, the Clinical Education Team of Patricia Nowakowski, PT, PhD, GCS, Associate
  • Professor, and Colleen Corcoran, DPT, BS/MS PT, Clinical Assistant Professor