Back To Top

D'Youville Unanimously Accepted into the East Coast Conference

D'Youville Unanimously Accepted into the East Coast Conference

The East Coast Conference (ECC) announced today that D'Youville has been unanimously accepted as a member of the conference by the league's Council of Presidents.

Currently an NCAA Division III institution, D'Youville's membership in the ECC is contingent upon acceptance into the NCAA Division II membership process. If accepted, a decision that will be made by the Division II Membership Committee in July, D'Youville would need to successfully complete the NCAA-mandated three-year transition to achieve active member status in Division II and the ECC.

"We are very pleased to announce our newest member and welcome D'Youville to the East Coast Conference," said ECC Commissioner Dr. Robert Dranoff. "D'Youville presents a great opportunity for the conference to expand again, this time in Western New York."

Dranoff continued by saying, "Over several months of exploration and discussion, we had the chance to engage and work with D'Youville President Dr. Lorrie Clemo and Director of Athletics Ona Halladay. The work they, along with their campus administration, coaches, staff, and team members, have done in preparing for the move to Division II has been truly impressive. D'Youville has been an important part of the Buffalo community for over 100 years and we feel strongly that they will fit well with the ECC and that the conference can support their efforts to continue to develop their athletic program."

The addition of D'Youville would bring the number of ECC members to 11, the highest total for the conference since 2016. D'Youville would become the third member based in Western New York, joining Daemen (Amherst, N.Y.) and Roberts Wesleyan (Rochester, N.Y.).

D'Youville also becomes the second school to announce its intent to transition from Division III to Division II and ECC membership in the past year, joining the College of Staten Island. 

The D’Youville Spartans sponsor 15 varsity sports of which 12 are currently championship sponsored sports in the ECC (baseball, men's/women's basketball, women's bowling, men's/women's cross country, women's lacrosse, men's/women's soccer, softball, women's tennis, and women's volleyball).

"This is a monumental decision in the history of the college," said Dr. Lorrie Clemo, president of D'Youville. "Moving to Division II and joining the prestigious East Coast Conference will help us grow in excellence, reputation and geographic footprint. All of this will support our growth vision. The ultimate objective is for D’Youville to get bigger and better, in order to serve more students well into the future.  This change has electrified and unified the campus bringing much excitement to our ambitious plans."

Ona Halladay, D'Youville's director of athletics added, "I am thrilled about our future membership in the East Coast Conference. his transition and opportunity will provide our student-athletes a best in class opportunity to compete at a high level athletically, while continuing to maintain their high level of success academically.”

Halladay wrapped up her sentiments by saying, “I am also incredibly energized by the East Coast Conference membership. In the time we have spent exploring this opportunity, it is clear that ECC student-athletes, coaches, administrators, presidents, and conference office are extremely proud to be a part of such a strong entity but are also focused on working together to create an even greater footprint in the future of intercollegiate athletics. We, at D’Youville, are excited to be players on this team.”

About the ECC
Founded as the New York Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1989 and rechristened the East Coast Conference in July 2006, the ECC was formed to enhance intercollegiate athletic competition among member institutions and to assist them in integrating athletics into their academic program in a fiscally sound way. The ECC is committed to the highest standards of scholarship, sportsmanship, teamwork, and citizenship. Its mission is to promote the total person concept in its student-athletes, which stresses the abilities to excel in academic achievement, athletic competition, and positive character traits.

East Coast Conference members include: University of Bridgeport (Bridgeport, Conn.); University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.); Daemen College (Amherst, N.Y.); Mercy College (Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.); Molloy College (Rockville Centre, N.Y.); New York Institute of Technology (Old Westbury, N.Y.); Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.); Roberts Wesleyan College (Rochester, N.Y.); College of Staten Island (Staten Island, N.Y.) and St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, N.Y.). Associate Members include: Adelphi University (Garden City, N.Y.); Bloomfield College (Bloomfield, N.J.); Caldwell University (Caldwell, N.J.); Chestnut Hill College (Philadelphia, Pa.); Farmingdale State College (Farmingdale, N.Y.); Felician University (Rutherford, N.J.); Frostburg State University (Frostburg, Md.); Georgian Court University (Lakewood, N.J.), Holy Family University (Philadelphia, Pa.), Kutztown University (Kutztown, Pa.), Lincoln University (Lincoln University, Pa.), Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, Tenn.), Mercyhurst University (Erie, Pa.); Post University (Waterbury, Conn.), Southern New Hampshire University (Manchester, N.H.), St. Joseph's College (Patchogue, N.Y.); Tusculum University (Greeneville, Tenn.); and Wilmington University (New Castle, Del.).

The ECC sponsors the following championship sports: baseball; men’s and women’s basketball; women's bowling; men’s and women’s cross country; Esports (Overwatch and League of Legends); men’s and women’s lacrosse; softball; men’s and women’s tennis; men’s and women’s indoor track and field; men’s and women’s outdoor track and field; men’s and women’s soccer; and women’s volleyball.

The East Coast Conference is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II. Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions, and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions. Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete.