Back To Top

D’Youville Faculty Win 2017 Critics’ Choice Book Award

D’Youville Faculty Win 2017 Critics’ Choice Book Award

Buffalo, New York – October 05, 2017 – A new book co-edited by two members of the D’Youville faculty has just been named a 2017 Critics’ Choice Book Award winner by the American Educational Studies Association (AESA). Teacher Performance Assessment & Accountability Reforms: The Impacts of edTPA on Teaching and Schools provides different perspectives on the edTPA (Educational Teacher Performance Assessment), one of several state assessments required for classroom teacher certification, within the context of current education reform agendas.

Co-edited by Dr. Julie Carter, an associate professor and director of TESOL Programs, and Dr. Hilary Lochte, chair of the Education Department, the book includes a chapter authored by Dr. James Lalley. Lalley, an assistant professor in the Education Department, used psychometric methods to explore the reliability and validity of the edTPA.

“The Critics’ Choice Award serves to recognize and increase awareness of recent scholarship deemed to be outstanding in its field and of potential interest to members of the Association,” Dr. Eleanor Blair, chair of the selection committee, explains on the AESA website. The three D’Youville professors will accept their award at AESA’s annual meeting, which will take place November 1-5 in Pittsburgh.

Established in 1968, AESA is an international society for students, educators, research scholars, and administrators who have an interest in the foundations of education. The association members dedicate themselves to exploring issues in education from a plurality of academic viewpoints and perspectives.


Marketing & Communications Department