Back To Top

Pharmacy Professor Chairs Leadership Institute

Pharmacy Professor Chairs Leadership Institute

Dr. Donegan Also Heads Steering Committee

Buffalo, New York – September 28, 2016 – Dr. Teresa E. Donegan, assistant professor of Pharmacy at D’Youville College, is the current chair of the Western New York Consortium of Higher Education Women’s Leadership Institute and was a part of their inaugural institute in 2011-12.

She was named chair of the Steering Committee in January after serving as co-chair.

The 2016-17 institute begins October 5 and will run through April 5, 2017.

Three D’Youville faculty members were recently selected by interim D’Youville president William Mariani and approved for membership in the institute. They include Dr. Marion Olivieri, chair of Biology and Mathematics, Dr. Lisa Rafalson, chair of Health Services Administration, and Dr. Rebecca Waite, clinical associate professor of Pharmacy.

The consortium strengthens collaboration among its network of colleges and institutions and forges partnerships with regional private and public sectors. Its goal is to enhance the experience of students and improve local communities by contributing significantly to the ‘knowledge economy’ of the Buffalo region.

A major goal of the Western New York Consortium's Women's Leadership Institute is to position women for senior leadership positions in higher education.

Nationally, only 23 percent of sitting university presidents are women. Thirty-eight percent (8 of 21) of chief academic officers, 42 percent (10 of 24) of chief of student affairs, and only 18 percent (3 of 17) of chief financial officers are women. Forty-nine percent of college presidents are over the age of 60. In the next 5-8 years there will be a significant number of retirements and opportunities for women to advance.

Founding president Cynthia Zane explains the purpose of the institute: "With senior higher education leaders serving as discussion guides, mentors, and facilitators, program participants will gain a broader perspective and understanding of the critical issues facing higher education. Institute graduates will be better prepared for the many challenges and opportunities that leadership positions present in higher education."

The Steering Committee includes founder President Cynthia Zane (Hilbert College), President Shirley Mullen (Hilbert), and five members representing private and public institutions.

Past D'Youville President Sr. Denise Roche was one of eight female presidents in the WNY Higher Education Consortium and one of the founders of the Women's Leadership Institute.  

The institute has had three graduates going on to higher positions. They include: Dr Maureen Finney, D'Youville 's dean of the School of Health Professions; Katherine Linaker, past director of D'Youville' Chiropractic Department, who received two promotions at Mohawk Valley Community College: dean of the Center for Life and Health Sciences and recently assistant vice president of academics; and past institute co-chair Richanne Mankey, who received a president appointment at Defiance College in Defiance, Ohio in January of this year.

“The Steering Committee is excited about this coming institute and looks forward to welcoming participants of the 2016-2017 class next week,” Donegan said.


Dr. Teresa E. Donegan
Phone: 716-829-8435