Back To Top
D’Youville will graduate over 760 students at its 107th annual commencement ceremony on May 16

CEO of Jacobs Institute to Deliver D'Youville Commencement Address

D’Youville will graduate over 760 students at its 107th annual commencement ceremony on May 16

Buffalo, New York – May 11, 2015 – D’Youville College will graduate approximately 760 undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students at its 107th annual commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 16 beginning at 9:00 a.m. at Kleinhans Music Hall. L. Nelson Hopkins, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer of The Jacobs Institute, will deliver the commencement address.

He was professor and chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery and professor of Radiology, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo (UB) from 1989 - 2013. Dr. Hopkins was named SUNY Distinguished Professor, the highest rank of faculty in the SUNY system, in recognition of his extraordinary achievements.

He is a founder of the Institute whose mission is to improve the treatment of vascular disease. It was created in memory of the late Lawrence D. Jacobs, M.D., by his brother Jeremy Jacobs and his family.

A graduate of Rutgers University, Dr. Hopkins earned his doctor of medicine degree, cum laude, from Albany Medical College. His postgraduate training included a surgical internship at Case Western Reserve in Cleveland, followed by neurology and neurosurgical training at UB.

He developed a new way to organize the multidisciplinary treatment of vascular disease and brought experts from around the world together to design the Gates Vascular Institute building and recruited the necessary partners to bring the Jacobs Institute and Gates Vascular Institute to life.

Dr. Hopkins also serves as Chairman of the Board of the Gates Vascular Institute.

The salutatory address will be given by Marissa T. Benzin, a Lancaster N.Y. native who will receive both her bachelor's and master's degrees in occupational therapy. She is the recipient of the D’Youville Medal, the highest undergraduate award; the St. Catherine of Alexandria Medal awarded to an outstanding junior student and she received the occupational therapy program director’s award in 2014.

Patricia A. Smyton, a member of the 50th Anniversary Class of 1965, will give the invocation. A number of graduates of the anniversary class will attend the ceremony.

Sister Denise A. Roche, GNSH, D’Youville president will present the degrees.

More Information


Marketing & Communications Department