Back To Top

Nursing Students Inducted into Honor Society

Buffalo, New York – November 25, 2013 – Sixty-two students attending the School of Nursing at D'Youville College were inducted into the Zeta Nu chapter of Sigma Theta Tau international honor society in a special ceremony on November 15.

“Becoming a member of Sigma Theta Tau communicates achievement, leadership and responsibility," said Dr. Judith H. Lewis, dean of D’Youville’s School of Nursing. "We are fortunate to have so many students who have demonstrated excellence, and we look forward to the contributions they will make to the profession.”

Sigma Theta Tau recognizes scholarship and leadership and is one of the largest and most prestigious nursing organizations in the world. The Society is composed of nurse scholars and leaders recognized for their superior achievement, leadership qualities, high professional standards and commitment to the profession of nursing. Chapters are found around the world and the Society, founded in 1922, has more than 130,000 members.

Candidates for membership must have completed half of the school’s nursing curriculum; have achieved academic excellence with a Grade Point Average of 3.0, rank in the upper 35 percent of the graduating class and meet the expectation of academic integrity.

Registered Nurse students (Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing) must have completed 12 credit hours in the school they are attending, in addition to the above requirements. Graduate candidates must have completed one quarter of the graduate nursing curriculum and meet the same requirements.

The students are:

Lauren Adams

Olayinka Adetimehin

Danielle Marie Bagley

Alisha D Banks

Christopher Barkley

Melissa Ruby Cancel

Cassandra Lynn Cecchini

Mary Chameli

Ashley A Ciresi

Johnna Coleman

Dana Marie Daddario

Brianna Davis

Linnea DiCosimo

Jillian Nicole Dobson

Kimberly Dziulko

Desiree Eckam

Kara Fonti

Kara Forster

Joelle Ann Gage

Nicole Garrison

Ryan Vincent Hamilton

Joyce He

Joelle Cathryn Hochulski

Danielle Hodson

Julie Marie Howard

Kaitlyn Alexandra Hull

Kourtney Taylor Kijanka

Daniel Knickerbocker

Marisa Ann Knox

Mary Ann Kobylecky

Lauren Melanie Kowalski

Jenna Kurzanski

Brittney Kwadwo

Leah Lahrman

Christine Logan

Brian Magner

Kathy Marcotte

Anne-Marie Martin-Purinton

Michael Martorana

Angela Matthews

Megan McGrath

Jaclyn Louise Munzel

Temitope A Olasokan

Ashlie Panus

Emily Quinn

Ilyana Rahman

Rebecca Rejewski

Lauren Michelle Roddie

Kristine Marie Simme

Katheren Lorraine Sinclair

Maham Sindhu

Sean Joseph Smith

Taneca Smith

Alisha Spencer

Lauren Leigh Stawski

Tracey Lee Sullivan Susan

Tam Natalia Vasylchuk

Jennifer Louise Weisedel

Alyssa Christine Weissinger

Kristen Elizabeth Withrow

Rebecca Wood

Gita Zhulovchinova


D’Youville founded the area’s first four-year nursing program in the 1940s and today is a leader in healthcare education.


Lucinda Phillips, clinical assistant professor of nursing at 716-829-8345

Judith H. Lewis, chair of the School of Nursing at 716-829-7856