Back To Top

DYC Hockey to Host 1st National Championship

Buffalo, New York – March 13, 2013 – D’Youville’s College Club Hockey team, the Spartans, has been selected by the National Association of Intercollegiate Hockey (NAIH) to participate in and play host to the association’s first national championship March 15-17 in Buffalo.

Games will be played at Bud Bakewell Rink, 2607 Niagara St. in Riverside Park and the Cazenovia Rink, 25 Cazenovia Street, corner Abbott Road, with the championship game being played at the Bakewell Rink in Riverside on Sunday afternoon.

Other teams participating in the championship include Gannon University, LeMoyne College, Ventura County Community College District, and Western Washington University.

The “Final 5 Format” will see D’Youville taking on Gannon University this Friday, March 15, at the Bakewell Rink in Riverside at 3:00 p.m. At 8:30 p.m. Western Washington meets Ventura County in the same rink.

Saturday, March 16, will see the losers of the first game meet at 8:00 a.m. at Riverside.

Ed Draper, the Spartans head coach, has been named by the NAIH as event director. “For many players this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I am honored to be a part of it,” he said.

The NAIH provides a governing body, structure of play, and a national champion to intercollegiate hockey teams while playing under current NCAA hockey rules.

D’Youville students created the men’s ice hockey team in 2010 and the USA Hockey Program, the D’Youville College Student Association and the College sanctioned it. The team plays a 20+ game schedule from September to February with home games held at the Bud Bakewell Arena. The team competes against the American Collegiate Hockey Association Division I and Division III teams and is a member of the NAIH.

D’Youville currently has one female player who is the starting goalie.


Ed Draper, Head Coach
Telephone: 716-829-7836 or 716-936-4688

Tournament Schedule:

Friday, March 15 at Riverside Arena
Game 1 – 3:00 p.m. D’Youville vs. Gannon
Game 2 – 8:30 p.m. WWU vs. Ventura

Saturday, March 16 at Riverside Arena
Game 3 – 8:00 a.m. Losers of games 1 & 2
Riverside & Cazenovia Arenas (Saturday)
Game 4 – LeMoyne vs. winner of game 1 at Cazenovia Rink
Game 5 – 3:00 p.m. winner of game 2 vs. winner of game 3 at Bakewell Rink in Riverside
Game 6 – 6:00 p.m. loser of game 3 vs. loser of game 4 at Cazenovia Arena

Sunday March 17 Final Round at Bakewell Rink in Riverside
Game 7 – 12:00 noon Consolation, winner of game 6 vs. loser of game 5 for third place.
Game 8 – 3:00 p.m. National Championship Game, winners of games 4 & 5