Back To Top

D'Youville Athletics Award Winners Announced

Buffalo, New York – May 3, 2012 – In front of a capacity crowd of nearly 300, that also included D'Youville College President Sister Denise A. Roche, the team and department award winners were announced at the Athletic Department annual year-end dinner at Pearl Street Grill.

Men's basketball standout Raysean Johnson (Buffalo, NY/Grover Cleveland) was named the 2011-12 D'Youville College Male Athlete of the Year. Johnson led the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference in scoring, was a First-Team All-Conference selection, and twice was named conference Player of the Week.

Averaging 23.1 points per game, Johnson was 9th nationally among NCAA Division III players in scoring and the six-foot three guard set school single-game scoring record when he went for 42 points January 9 at Franciscan. Johnson was an integral part of the Spartans reaching the AMCC Tournament since joining the league three years ago.

Two were named 2011-12 D'Youville College Female Athletes of the Year: two-sport standout Hannah Norton (Wyoming, NY/Pavilion) and soccer record-setter Danielle Gehen (West Seneca, NY/West Seneca West).

Norton wins the top award for a second-straight season. In basketball, Norton had a career-best season averaging a team-high 14.8 points and10 rebounds per game earning Second-Team All-Conference honors.

In softball Norton was again the Spartan's ace compiling (to date) a 9-6 record, three saves, 80 strikeouts, 4 complete games and a conference low 2.28 earned-run average. At the plate Norton is batting .297 with four home runs and 11 RBI.

D'Youville (16-12, 13-5 AMCC) is the #3 seed for this weekend's AMCC Tournament and the Spartans look as the Spartan's are looking to repeat as conference champions.

Sophomore Gehen led all AMCC women's soccer players in goals (16), assists (9), and points (41) while establishing new school single-season records for goals and points. October 9th at Penn State Beaver, Gehen set a new school single-game scoring record with 10 points (3goals-4 assists).

Gehen was twice named AMCC Player of the Week and was a First-Team All-Conference selection. D'Youville was 5-4 in AMCC play and qualified for the conference tournament for a second-straight season.

Baseball player Jordan Vokes (Caledonia, NY/Caledonia-Mumford) was named the 2011-12 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the third-straight year. Vokes has a 4.0 GPA in Biology with minors in chemistry and nutrition. He has not missed a game in his four-year career.

This season Vokes led the team in batting with a .316 average and eight extra-base hits and was was also named the team co-MVP. He concluded his four-year career as the program's all-time hit leader with 92.

Women's cross-country runner Christine Fleming (Tonawanda, NY/Mount St. Mary Academy) was named the 2011-12 D'Youville Female Scholar-Athlete of the year. A dietetics major, Fleming has a 3.7559 undergraduate GPA and a 3.908 graduate GPA. Fleming competed in all eight of cross-country's events last season. Fleming also received the team's Spartan Spirit Award.

2011-12 Team Award Winners

Men's Basketball:
MVP – Raysean Johnson; MIP – Erik Prophet; Spartan – Josh Domros

Women's Basketball:
MVP – Hannah Norton; MIP - Kellie Burns; Spartan –Sara Wozniak

Women's Cross Country:
MVP – Melyssa Peplowski; MIP – Maria Fusco; Spartan – Christine Fleming

Men's Cross Country:
MVP – Jarred Bogardus; MIP – Joseph Colasuonno; Spartan- Jamal Williams

Women's Volleyball:
MVP – Luciana Payne; MIP – Colleen Brady; Spartan – Brittany Yocius

Men's Soccer:
MVP – Josh Pfuntner; MIP - Max Schmidt; Spartan – Brendan Frawley

Women's Soccer:
MVP – Danielle Gehen; MIP – Christina Ventresca; Spartan –Stephanie Lozzi

Men's Volleyball:
MVP – Chris Temple; MIP – Alex Johnson; Spartan – Chris Gluc

MVP –(co) Jordan Vokes, Brent Gibbs; MIP - Jeff Spors

MVP – Hannah Norton; MIP – Gabby Lathrop; Spartan - Shannon Sutton

Women's Rowing:
MVP – Kaitlynn Trzaska; MIP – Mindy Walck; Spartan – Marissa Benzin

MVP – Harrison Civin; MIP - DJ Zanghi; Spartan – James Schultz

Women's Tennis:
MVP – Meghan Atallah; MIP – Katie Roland; Spartan – Ali Mascioletti

Men's Tennis:
MVP – Stephen Beatty; MIP – Mark Boyland; Spartan – Marc Moyer