Back To Top

D’Youville Hockey Players Up for Awards

Four Named to All-American Team, Three to All Scholar Team

Buffalo, New York – March 21, 2012 – Six D'Youville club hockey players have been nominated as finalists for the first annual awards from the National Association of Intercollegiate Hockey (NAIH).

Nominated for the Most Outstanding Player Award are Justin LaRusch and Jeffery Monnin.

Named to the All-American team are Jeffery Spors, Jordan Kiljanski, Raymond Struzik and Scott Montgomery.

In addition, Scott Montgomery, Kiljanski and Spors were named to the All Scholar American Team. The team was established to recognize student-athletes who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The minimum criteria are a 3.0 GPA.

This past season was the inaugural year for the NAIH with 22 colleges and universities from across the country making up the Association. The National Championship tournament will be played in Syracuse in March 2013.

The D'Youville Spartans finished fourth overall in the NAIH with a 15-6 record.

D'Youville will be competing in the Upstate New York Club Hockey League this coming season.

The D'Youville Men's Hockey Team is a club program established in the spring of 2010 by students who played hockey prior to attending the private college. The team operates as an independent hockey club competing in Division III. They play a 20 plus game schedule with home games held at Bud Bakewell Arena located at Riverside Park in Buffalo.

-30 –

Contact: Ed Draper at 829-7836